Anime recomandation: Donten ni Warau

Lately the weather have been quite nice! There have been sunny instead of rain! 😀 And it got me thinking about this heart warming anime. I actually wanted to write about it earlier, but did not really have time (◕︵◕) On the other hand, I think this is a spring anime, so writing about it now kind of fits the season 🙂

English name: Laugh under the clouds
Episode: 12
Satus: Completed
Aired: Oct 4, 2014 to Dec 20, 2014
Genre: historical, action, shoujo

The anime is about the three Kumoh brothers who have been given the duty to deliver prisoner to an inescapable lake prison. This prison was built after the rise of criminal activity. As a result that samurai population began to dwindle and people began to rebel against the ban on blades. However, could there be more to Kumoh brothers mission than meets the eye?

As I mention earlier, this anime is really heart warming and filled with lots of bromance! (●´ω`●) Not only is Tenka, the oldest son, kind, strong and loved by every one in the village, he has also taken the place of his parents (after they died) and tried to raise his two younger brothers along side with his friend Shirasu.

Earlier I also asked a really leading question, and the answer to that is of course: yes, there are more to their mission than meets the eye. Not wanting to go too deep and spoil anything, I just have to say that this was one of the most useless dragon ever…

Both the art and story is well done! The story have a few twist which you do not expected at all, while the art such you more into the anime! 😀 I think the fight scenes at the beginning could have been done better, but it gets better as the anime goes on!

Next we have the sound and characters. The sound is very good! The music also fits each scene very well! 🙂 And I absolutely looove the openings and ending! The voice actors also did an awesome job, conveying the characters feelings very well! And even though I talked a little bit about the characters earlier, I just wanted to mention that they complement each other so well. Also, I truly believes the brothers would struggle to exist without each other. And for the romance lovers out there, there is some romance in it! (~ ̄▽ ̄)~

I also just wanted to mention that even though this anime is label as shoujo and historical, it definitely suit both females and males. The only historical aspect about this anime, is the period they lived in and they way they live. So please do not avoid the anime just because of the genre, I promise you will not regret watching this anime!

So to conclude: this is a really sweet anime about family. It have some twist, which you would not have seen coming (so prepare the tissues!). The art and music is simply beautiful! So definitely go watch it!
And for the ones that wants more after finishing the anime, the manga Donten ni warau gaiden is the continuation of where the (manga and) the anime ended! So check that out as well! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Anime recomandation: Donten ni Warau

    1. Glad you feel the same! 😀 Definitely one of my favorite animes!
      I might actually like the art in the anime better, just because I watched the anime before I read Donten ni warau gaiden xD Nevertheless, both style is still beautiful! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I watched the anime first, too. I haven’t started reading the manga, but I did glance at it. I’ll probably read Gaiden sometime this month. I’m currently immersed in a new anime so I’ll read it later. Do you recommend any other anime like Donten? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, hehe 😛 Gaiden is still ongoing, so waiting to read it is not a bad idea.
        One I absolutely recommend is Barakamon! 😀 Though this anime do not have action in it, the anime is still really good, funny and heart warming! While Warau focuses more on family, Barakamon focuses on friends and finding yourself 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

