Amber’s “borders”

As part of the SM Station ( if you do not know what it is, check it out here), the 7th track is composed, written and sung by Amber.

Before checking out the song, please read this message from Amber herself:

“Before the song is released there are a couple things I’d like to share. This song took me a lot of courage to write because I was always apprehensive of the subject it talked about. I’ve been doing this job for a long time and right now I speak not as Amber of f(x) nor “celebrity” Amber, but just Amber. Just plain, simple, human Amber. “Borders” is more than a song; no glamorous concepts, no “trying to be cool.” Its a raw and real story about reality. Its shares, not only about my personal experiences but of people very close to me. Everyone involved in this project- the producers, my team DPR, the actors, to the staff- were people specifically chosen as they have never given up on me and believed in my vision. For that, I want to thank them for making this possible for me. When you guys listen to “Borders”, there is just one thing i wish everyone could take from it: NEVER give up on yourself. There is always hope in the midst of this dark, demanding world. In the end, live for those that did not get the chance to and just keep fighting. Always, thank you you guys. You guys made it possible.”

It is clear that both the lyrics and the MV carries a deep message! I specially love how the MV takes up issues that is relevant today! Teenagers today are struggling with self image and trying to  achieve the “ideal body”. School has also become a place where you have to get good grades and doing well on exam, rather than actually learning about the different subjects.

I am not that used to Amber singing, since I have only heard a few of f(x)’s songs and then she usually rap, however, you can hear that this is a subject she is passionate about, something she want the world to hear.

I actually had a fight with my mom today. Everything is fine now 😉 But both of us had just been bottling up a lot of different things, and it just had to come out. For me one of the things was that in this semester I re-took a subject which I had last semester. I did not manage to improve my grade, and that really devastated me. I managed to study more for it this time, and I really thought I would be able to at least get one grade better. The most frustration part was that one of my closest friend also re-took the subject, and she managed to get 2 grades better even though she (herself told me she) did not manage to read as much. Of course I  am happy for her, but it is just so frustrating! ( ͒˃⌂˂ ͒) However, I am not giving up. I am going to take it next semester, and I am going to make it!

But being honest, I am afraid that I will not be able to improve my grade. I tried to re-take some subject I had from high school and I did not manage to improve them. v(ಥ ̯ ಥ)v There were different factors that played in, like I tried to do it while I was still in high school so I had a lot of things to focus on at the same time or that I did not really want to re-take the subject, but I did because my mom wanted me. But either way, I have failed quite a lot in life, and remembering that, as well as comparing myself to others success, which I know I should not, is quite demotivating and I lose confidence in myself.

I tend to be quite stubborn, so if my mind has decided on something, I will (try) to do it. Like with the subject I just tried to improve. My mind is set that I will have to improve it, because I really just got a passing grade, and for me that is not good enough. But I honestly do not know if I will be able to do it. But listening and watching Amber’s new song, I feel motivated again. We easily get a set back when we meet a bump in the road, and while we all try to have a positive mind, that can sometimes be difficult, specially when there are not that many songs, both for kpop and music in general,  that takes up the issues with self image and school.

Just as Amber said:  NEVER give up on yourself. There is always hope in the midst of this dark, demanding world. In the end, live for those that did not get the chance to and just keep fighting.

Leave a Reply

