Anime recomandation: Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

It has been a while since I did either an anime or manga recommendation/review, partly because there have been a lot of kpop comebacks and debuts lately and partly because it is, for me, easier to write about songs than about anime and manga.
So I want to thank those who still visit or are subscribed to my blog, solely for manga and anime post, I will try to improve and write more (about manga and anime!)

Back to business, I hope everyone is enjoying summer vacation! ^^ I think Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushiiis is a perfect anime to watch during the summer due to the setting in the anime. If you want to know moer about the anime, keep reading! 😉

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

English name: The word is still beautiful
Episodes: 12
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Romance and Shoujo

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii is about the 17 year old girl Nike, who is the fourth princess of the Rain Dukedom. After losing in rock, paper and scissors, yes you read right she has to travel to the Sun Kingdom and marry Sun King Livius. She soon finds out that the King, who manages to conquer the world in only three years after he ascended the throne, still is a kid (15 years old)! Moreover, Nike has a special power, she can namely call forth the wind, skies, and rain! And guess who is demanding her to call forth the rain?

First of I just want to point out that this might look and sound like a typical shoujo anime, but it is not. Nike is a strong willed girl, who can (somewhat) protect herself and the ones she cares about. Though if I have to describe the whole anime it would be”fantastic fairy tale cliche story”, but of course not in a bad way.

I personally do not think that the main characters or the story are brand new, though we do find elements that do makes them stand out, like the bond Livius and Nike forms. The story itself is also rich in culture and backstory. Not to mention that the anime also have one corny, yet dramatic and catchy soundtrack. IT’S A TENDER RAIN~

So when it comes to the Nike, she is not your typical shoujo heroine that is fragile, dense, clumsy and so one, but she is the typical strong shoujo heroine. Nike is strong willed, adventurous, can (somewhat) protect herself and also wants to protect the ones important to her. The same goes for Livius. He is portrayed as a cold guy, who actually (or should I say eventually) has a warm and soft side to him. We also can not forget his dark past. Naturally, as the anime goes on, the main characters learn each other’s past, have a character development and starts a beautiful relationship while facing obstacles together. Even though we do have other support characters, they are not put in focus and is a little flat but compliments Nike and Livius.

The animation of Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii is clear, bright and neat. It has well-produced backgrounds and visual effects that have an old-school, European and fairy tale look and feel to it. The characters are also wearing different clothes, that is very well designed, ranging from casual to formal depending on the situation.

When it comes to the sound, the opening Beautiful World matches the entire series, while the ending Promise sung by Rena Maeda (the voice actor of Nike) is easily more forgotten when compared with the opening song. As I wrote earlier, we also have the main theme song Beautiful rain or Tender rain, which is used throughout the anime and I am pretty sure most people get the song stuck in their head after finish watching the anime 😛 I also think the voice actor did a good job in portraying the characters.

The element that drew me closer to this anime and making me want to see it, was actually the fantasy element, namely Nike’s power to call forth firstly the rain. This does indeed make the anime stand out more and the way she wields her power actually makes Livius strive to become a better person and see how beautiful the world actually is. I only wished the anime could portray Nike’s power more powerful as we vaguely get to know how powerful her power actually is.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the anime! I want to borrow what papsoshea wrote in his review for Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii on myanimelist.net. The anime “throw together a bit of everything from magic to royalty, minor action scenes to touching flashback moments. The show does a careful balancing act of entertaining the audience with a bit of each, all the whilst ensuring to never take itself too seriously. Thus the fun, comedic and over the top dramatic moments”
So give the anime a shot, I think it is worth it! 🙂

My spoiler thoughts on the anime:
– In the anime Nike’s grandma tells Livius (if I am not mistaken) how Nike’s power, if used in the wrong hands, can cause disaster and even the world’s downfall (again, if I am not mistaken. It has been a while since I saw this anime > <) However, I did not feel that the anime showed enough of how amazing or even dangerous Nike’s power really is. I would love to see Nike use her power more and maybe in combat too.

-Speaking of power, I never fully understood why Nike, in the end, showed off her power in that banquet that Livius held. I clearly remember her being very upset saying her power is not for display, yet she did it in the end. And at that time they were not really close and I do not think her showing her power to call forth the rain lead to anything specific.

– I also could not understand why Nike got so sad when she left her grandmother, even though it was a little heart wrenching and heart warming at the same time when she sent them off by singing. I get that she might not be able to meet her family that much due to the distance, but she was crying like her grandma was dying. At the same time, she could also be crying so much because her grandma in a way accepted Livius?

– This is not much of a spoiler, but I can not help thinking Livius is a 10 year old boy, even though he is 15 years old, due to the way he is drawn! It irritates me in a way because he is only 2 years younger than Nike, but I only manage to look at him as a brat.

4 thoughts on “Anime recomandation: Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

  1. It took me two goes to watch this anime. I really disliked the first episode and so the first time I started it I dropped it. However, once Nike and Livius are more together the relationship between them and how they help each other to grow is really sweet. Though I agree with you, why does Livius look that young?

    Like

    1. Really? What made you dislike the first episode?
      I also have to agree with you that it was a nice journey seeing how the bond between Nike and Livius formed and developed 🙂
      I think it might be a shoujo thing that Livius are looking that young 😛 I have read other manga where the guy is younger than the girl and they are always drawn shorter, handsome and given the “I look cold and heartless, but I actually care about you” personality.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t like the original interactions between Livius and Nike in the throne room and then flashing back. I know this is done a lot but it really just kind of annoyed me at the time so I stopped there. Later on I went back and just watched through it and ended up really enjoying the series.

        Like

Leave a Reply

