Boon Hui Lu 文慧如’s cover of 漂向北方 Stranger In The North

It has been a while since I had a Cpop post. I came over this song last week and knew I had to share this with you guys! ^^

As the tittle says; the song I am going to share with you guys is actually a cover. I did not even know that until I was writing this post and recognized the name Leehom Wang (which is a man) and thought that something was fishy, since the singer here is a woman.

So here is the original song, with Chinese and English subb!! ヾ(@⌒▽⌒@)ノ

And here is the cover by Boon Hui Lu 文慧如.

Some quick facts about Boon Hui Lu. She is is a Singaporean actress and singer-songwriter. 23 years old. You can read more about her here.

When I first saw the thumbnail, I thought that this might be another one of those slow songs. However, I was wrong. I really like her voice, and was super impressed when she started to rap!  I like that she has her own style of rapping. Moreover, she adds her own traits in the cover. Which I like, because I feel that the way 黃明志Namewee raps is a little chopped, which is probably his style, but not fitting my taste.

It is so interesting how a song can be interpreted in so many ways. While I prefer Boon Hui Lu’s version more, the original sounds nice too. Which version do you guys like the most?●ᴥ●

 

Leave a Reply

